ETS World Championships

The ETS World Championships is the highest stakes and most prestigious tournament in all of Eternal. Sixteen of the very best players gather to play for over a thousand dollars in prizes, a shot at the Player of the Year title, and the title of World Champion!

When and Where

(Days still subject to change)

The World Championships will be held over an unprecedented FOUR days. All days begin at 12pm EST.

Round Robin: November 11th and 12th

Elimination Round: November 18th

Grand Finals: November 19th

The stream for both days will be live on the aReNGeeEternal twitch stream and should begin an hour before the tournament starts.

Tournament Format

Round Robin (Day 1 and 2)

The World Championships is not a place for luck to decide games, nor is it something that will be rushed through. The first two days of the tournament will be a full duration round robin. Every player will play each other player once over fifteen rounds. In order to prove you’re the best, you’re going to have to face everyone else and prove it. No players will be eliminated during this phase – players will be seeded into the Elimination Round depending on how they do in the round robin. The top four players will be seeded directly into the Grand Finals portion of the tournament. The 5th best through 12th best players will be put into Pod A for the elimination stage, while the bottom 4 players after the group stage are put into Pod B.

Elimination Stage (Day 3)

The top 4 players from the first two days get to relax and skip the Elimination stage. The Elimination stage is split into two Pods – the 8 player Pod A and the 4 player Pod B. Once again, round robin play will decide who moves on – every player will have to face every other player, so no complaining about bad matchups!

Pod A (8 players, 3 advance)

Pod A will play 7 rounds of round robin on day 3. After the round robin is complete, the players with the best three records move on into the Grand Finals. The other five players are eliminated from the tournament.

Pod B (4 players, 1 advances)

Pod B will play 3 rounds of round robin towards the end of day 3. After the round robin is complete, the player with the best record moves on to the Grand Finals as the Eighth and final seed. The other players are eliminated from the tournament.

Grand Finals

We’ve asked players to prove themselves all down the stretch, and they’ve done so. No more Round Robin play – now its a case of Last Man Standing. However, we’re not about to let a single slip here end a player’s run – the final leg of the tournament will be an 8 player Double Elimination bracket. Lose twice, and you’re done – win out, and claim the title of World Champion!

ETS World Championship Prizing ($3000+ prize pool)

First Place: The title of World Champion, a cash prize of $1000, 20 Series Points, and a very good shot at the Player of the Year title.

Second Place: A cash prize of $750 and 16 Series Points.

Third Place: A cash prize of $500 and 13 Series Points.

Fourth Place: A cash prize of $250 and 10 Series Points.

Fifth and Sixth Place: A cash prize of $150 and 8 Series Points.

Seventh and Eighth Place: A cash prize of $100 and 6 Series Points.

What are Series Points?


Qualifying for the World Championships

Only sixteen (16) players are invited to the World Championships, and they will be invited from the following sources:

  • The six (6) Invitational Champions
  • The MSM Champion (1)
  • The top eight (8) players on the Worldwide Rankings not already qualified.
  • The winner (1) of the Worlds Wildcard

The World Champions is a culmination of the best and most successful Eternal tournament players this year has to offer, and the invitation criteria reflect that. Seven players are invited directly by winning major tournaments, while the other eight are invited based on their Series point totals, which indicates success at previous tournaments. Series Points are not easy to acquire – you need to Top 4 a weekly tournament or Top 12 an Invitational just to earn a single point!

Already Qualified

The following players have already qualified for the ETS World Championships

  • Toth201 (Season One Invitational Champion)
  • iReedMinds (Season Two Invitational Champion)
  • Angrychicken (Season Three Invitational Champion)
  • KampfKrote (Midseason Major Champion)
  • childroland (Season Four Invitational Champion)

At the time of writing, the lowest Series Point total that could get a direct invite is ten (10) Series Points.

The Worlds Wildcard


The Worlds Wildcard tournament takes place on November 11 and November 12, 2017. It is a sixteen person double elimination tournament, with the sole prize going to the winner, an invitation to the World Championships. This is the only way to qualify for the World Championships if you are not directly invited.

The sixteen players with the highest Series Point totals that did not get invited to the World Championships will be invited to take part in the Worlds Wildcard tournament.

Full Rules

The full rules for these events can be found on the ETS Rules page.