There are plenty of interesting situations that can come up in the course of a game of Eternal. Some of these situations are quite rare or make use of unituitive mechancis, which leaves some players uncertain of the outcomes. Use this quiz to test your Eternal knowledge and learn a little bit about some of the more esoteric interations in the game. Keep track of your answers and compare them to the answer guide at the end!
Easy Questions (1 Point)
A. You cast Channel the Tempest targeting your opponent with 9 other cards in hand. You draw 3 copies of Secret Pages. How much damage does Channel the Tempest deal to the opponent?
- 9 damage
- 12 damage
- 13 damage
- 15 damage
B. A Champion of Chaos (FFFSSS influence available) is given Killer. It uses Killer to attack a Valkyrie Enforcer. What is the result?
- Both the Champion and the Enforcer die.
- The Enforcer dies.
- The Enforcer dies, the opponent takes 2 overwhelm damage.
- The Enforcer dies, the opponent takes 4 overwhelm damage.
C. Your opponent plays a Censari Brigand and attacks you. You silence it with a Desert Marshal, but your opponent Torches the Marshal in response. How much damage do you take?
- 4 damage
- 2 damage
- 0 damage. The unit is removed from combat.
D. You are down to only a single point of health, while your opponent still has 5 health. Your opponent attacks you with two Oni Ronins, and you block one of the Ronins with your lone unit, an Umbren Reaper. What is the result?
- The units trade and you survive with 3 health. Umbren Reaper’s entomb kills the opponent.
- The units trade and you survive with 5 health. Umbren Reaper’s entomb kills the opponent.
- The units trade and you die. Umbren Reaper’s entomb does not trigger. You lose the game because of second Oni Ronin.
- The units trade and you die. Umbren Reaper’s entomb kills the opponent, so the game is a draw.
E. You are down to only a single point of health. Your opponent attacks you with two Oni Ronins, and you block one of the Ronins with your lone unit, this time an Infernal Tyrant. What is the result?
- You survive with 5 health.
- You survive with 6 health.
- You fall to 0 health and die.
- You fall to -1 health and die.
Medium Questions (2 points)
F. Forgeting your sequencing, you Torch an enemy Towertop Patrol, then cast Withering Witch. Does the unit survive?
- Yes, with 1 health. Your sequencing sucks.
- No, it dies. Your sequencing still sucked.
G. Similar to the last question, your sequencing is all backward. This time you cast Plague before Withering Witch. Your opponent had a Towertop Patrol in play. What are its current stats?
- 0/1, and it’s alive.
- 0/1, and it’s dead.
- 0/0, and it’s alive.
- 0/0, and it’s dead.
H. Your Cirso, the Great Glutton is attacked by a Predator Carnosaur. What is the result?
- Cirso does not activate. Both units trade.
- Cirso activates. Your Cirso survives, the Carnosaur dies.
- Cirso activates. Your Cirso survives, the Carnosaur dies, and your opponent takes 4 overwhelm damage.
- Cirso activates. The enemy unit loses Killer and is removed from combat. Both units survive, the Carnosaur is now a pig.
I. Your opponent attacks you with a Crownwatch Paladin equipped with a Deepforged Plate. You block with your Cirso. Which of these outcomes is correct?
- Cirso activates, and blocks the pig. Cirso survives, the pig dies.
- Cirso activates, and blocks the pig. Both units die.
- Cirso activates, and blocks the pig. Cirso dies, you take 1 damage.
- Cirso activates, but does not transform the Paladin. Cirso dies, you take 1 damage.
J. You attack your opponent with a Magus of the Mist and his dragon. Your opponent blocks the Magus with a Steward of the Past. What is the result?
- Magus dies, the dragon lives. Your opponent takes 6 damage.
- Both Magus and the Dragon die. Your opponent takes 6 damage.
- Both Magus and the Dragon die. Your opponent takes no damage.
- Magus dies, the dragon lives. Your opponent takes no damage.
Hard Questions (3 points)
K. Your opponent is at 10 health. They attack you with a Sword of Icaria, and you cast Lightning Strike on them. They respond with a Protect. You Torch the Sword. What is your opponents end status?
- 5 health, no aegis, no sword.
- 9 health, no aegis, no sword.
- 9 health, no sword, aegis.
- 5 health, no sword, aegis.
L. Both players are at 1 health and have an Argenport Instigator in play. Each player has no deck and only one card in hand. One player plays their last card, Harsh Rule and both Instigators die. Who loses?
- The player who played Harsh Rule since their Instigator activated first.
- The player who did not play Harsh rule since their Instigator activated first.
- The game is a draw. No point changes.
- Both players lose and receive losses.
- The player with no cards in hand loses.
- The player with one card in hand loses.
- Neither. The game is remade.
- The player who went first loses.
M. Your Dawnwalker was killed by your opponent’s Plague. You play a Champion of Cunning (PPPPP/SSSSS available) to revive it and attack the opponent. What are the Dawnwalker’s current stats?
- 5/2, attacking
- 3/0 because it returned as a 3/0, then died before Champion applied its anthem
- 3/0, and it doesn’t return
- 5/2, and it doesn’t return
N. You play Recurring Nightmare, cast Finest Hour on it, deal 4 damage to your opponent, and return it to your hand. What size is the Nightmare next turn?
O. Horror of horrors, Siraf hit Shimmerpack while you have a board of Initiate of Sands, Xenan Obelisk, and a Squad Strategist. You target yourself with its ability. Counting Initiate of Sands, you have exactly 8 power. What size do your Shimmers end up?
1 Point: A. 2 B. 4 C. 2 D. 3 E. 1
2 Point: F. 2 G. 1 H. 2 I. 4 J. 1
3 Point: K. 3 L. 8 M. 3 N. 3 O. 7
A. You can’t draw to more than 12 cards in hand (excess copies are discarded). Although you have 9 + 6 = 15 cards in hand as a result of draw, cards beyond the 12th are discarded and do not count towards Channel damage.
B. Killer works just like attacking. Deadly deals 1 damage to kill the Valkyrie, then Overwhelm deals the remaining damage to the opponent (in this case 4).
C. The silence goes through even though the Marshal is dead. While it loses charge, the Brigand is still attacking, so it deals 2 damage to you.
D. Damage occurs simultaneously, so by the time your Reaper is dead and its entomb can trigger, you are already dead.
E. Damage is dealt simultaneously, so even though you drop below 1 health, lifesteal puts you back to positive before combat ends and you survive.
F. The three damage from torch is still sitting on the Patrol. When its max health is changed from 5 to 1, the 3 damage kills it.
G. Unlike Torch, Plague doesn’t deal damage. Witch changes the Patrol from a 0/4 to a 0/1 with no damage on it.
H. Killer works just like attacking, so Cirso pigs the Carnosaur to a 2/2. This doesn’t remove it from combat, so Cirso kills the pig.
I. Aegis stops all enemy effects, including Cirso’s. Cirso falls to the 7/7 Overwhelm Paladin and you take a damage.
J. Magus has an invisible entomb of sorts where it tries to kill its linked dragon. Since Steward silences it when it dies, the effect does not trigger and the dragon stays around.
K. This one is a bit odd, as the attacking enemy is in this case the weapon that attacking, not the enemy player. When you torch the sword off the player, nothing is attacking anymore so the Lightning Strike does nothing. Protect still goes off, giving the enemy player an Aegis.
L. Simultaneous deaths are calculated in this way: 1) The player with less life loses. 2) The player with fewer cards left in their deck loses. 3) The player who went first loses. Life totals and deck sizes are tied, so whoever went first would lose. Hand sizes are irrelevant. There are no ties in this game.
M. Units with 0 health can’t be returned from the void to the battlefield. Champion only affects units in play, so it wouldn’t buff the Dawnwalker to the point where it could return.
N. The Finest Hour makes Recurring Nightmare a 4/4. Hitting the opponent doubles it power to 8, then it loses the Finest Hour bonus of +3/+3. The end result is 8-3 = 5/1.
O. The Shimmerpack is a 4/4 base. It gets +2/+2 from Obelisk and +1/+1 from Squad Strategist, making it a 7/7. When you choose your target, Siraf doubles that to 14/14 and turns all your units into 14/14 shimmerpacks. You lose Strategists buff and the 8th power for Obelisk, meaning the only static buff remining is +1/+1 from Obelisk, bringing your total stats to 15/15.
Add up all your points and find out what trivia card level you’re at!
0 to 5 Points – Friendly Wisp – This game is fun and you’re glad to be here, but you’re gonna need backup to be a real trivia threat.
6 to 10 Points – Oni Ronin – Like the Ronin, you’re quick out of the gate but not overwhelmingly powerful.
11 to 15 Points – Push Onwards – You’ve mastered the basics, but still need some practice to handle strange situations. Keep at it!
16 to 20 Points – Wisdom of the Elders – You’ve been playing for a long time and gotten into plenty of odd situations. That experience pays dividends here.
21 to 25 Points – Inspire – Mere experience won’t server you here, several of these situations simply don’t come up. Inspiriaton (and careful thought) saw you through!
26 to 29 Points – Celestial Omen – Inspired by above, or merely lucky guesses? ¿Porqué no los dos?
30 Points – Idol of Destran – You have mastered the even the most esoteric of Eternal lore, which is whatever the hell this card is.